A Duet – Beyond the Truth

This is written by myself and Hastywords I’ve done a lot of writing with her in the past and she remains to be an amazing poet and friend. Go check out her blog!


 
How do I overcome
This pain of a broken heart
How do I fix myself
I don’t know where to start
 
I feel overwhelmed
Disabled inside this emptiness
You left me hollow and numb
Inside a suffocating loneliness
 
Do I embrace the dark surrounding me?
Let it comfort me with its touch.
Or do I build my walls and shut it out?
Like the pain that hurts so much.
 
They say breathing is all it takes
To survive this painful dark
Lungs on fire, fighting my will
Oxygen struggling to leave its mark
 
So long bound by chains of passion
Only to be freed and bound again
By this pain of isolation
By the pains I hold within
 
I will sit alone in this dark
Become accustomed to its silence
Then perhaps someday
I’ll peer beyond its shadows
 
To the place where stars shone bright as suns
Where the sunlight filled my eyes
In my world where everything was right
beyond the truth and lies.
 
©2014 Alex Hicks and Hastywords

About Alex H.

I encourage everyone who reads my blog to comment and give me feedback on all of my work. The only way to get better is to know where your flaws are and sometimes it's hard to see them in yourself; so please, leave comments and feedback on my work, it help me to become a better writer which means you all get to read better poems!

Posted on 27/01/2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

