The Lost Ones

Slow day at work so I have lots of time for reading and writing. You can probably expect more poems today 😛
 

I stand surrounded by trees
The forest whispering secrets
For me and me alone
Telling me stories
Stories of the happiness they’ve seen
The sorrow they’ve witnessed
And stories of the ones who are lost.
Like me.
 
I stand high on a cliff
Overlooking the raging sea
The wind screaming my name
Telling me stories of its travels
The world it has seen
The ships it has guided
and telling me of the ones who are lost.
Like me.
 
I stand in the middle of a field
Knee-high grass as far as I can see
Moon telling stories
of trips around the world
Crickets basking in its calming glow
Telling me about the stars
And telling me of the ones who are lost
Like me.
 
I am nothing more
than a shoulder to cry on
A totem of solitude
A fly on the wall
I am nothing more than a lighthouse
A lighthouse for those who are lost.
Like me.
 
©2012 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

