I Can’t Do It

Every morning I wake up
And put on this mask
This mask that gives me sense of self
A mask of self-esteem.
 
It makes me appear as happy
A thoughtful caring person
A person with no problems
so as to help others with theirs.
 
But the truth is as it is
I don’t think I can wear this mask
I think It’s getting too heavy
for my tear stained cheeks.
 
It takes to much effort
To put on this mask every day
Hurts too much
To cover my own pain.
 
As much as I want to help others
It hurts to much for me
so I think it may be time
To listen the voices in my head.
 
-©2012 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

