Wild Roses

I finished this one on saturday, but I didn’t want to post it because I don’t much care for it. I decided to post it anyway because I realized that I didn’t write anything else on saturday. 😛
 

Wild Roses

 
Down by the river where wild roses once grew
With water as calm as fresh morning air
I would sit there and watch the sun rise with you
Your beauty the sight that the roses did share
And we’d stare at the roses bloody and new
The wild roses that grew ever so fair
The bank of the river wild roses did grow
And the sand on the shores as white as the snow.
 
But our love was for naught on that fateful day
When the mad men appeared driven by greed
Wearing leather for gloves and jackets of suede
Took the roses away and left you to bleed
“The have earned their reward” some people would say
Murderous men caught in a terrible deed
I curse the men who took the roses of red
Who left my heart broken and left you for dead.
 
-©2012 Alex Hicks

Like I said, I’m not too fond of this one, but it was my first attempt at an Ottava Rima poem. The next one will be better.

One thought on “Wild Roses

Leave a Reply

