Sometimes

So I am ashamed to admit that I was drinking last night. Not getting drunk, but drinking. Normally it’s not a problem, but as I finished my drink I realized; I was drinking for the wrong reasons. I was drinking to drown the sadness I was feeling yesterday. I poured the remainder of my drink down the sink.

I woke up this morning to a message on facebook from a friend from a long time ago who was one of the ones who I haven’t talked to in a long time. It was him telling me to straighten myself out.

Anyway, it was the inspiration for this poem. I doubt he’ll ever visit my blog, but if he does, he’ll know who he is.

And if he does visit, and if he does see this post, Thank you.

-Alex H.

Sometimes things look bleak.
Sometimes things look like they’re going south.
Sometimes it looks like it won’t get better.
And sometimes things just do.
 
Sometimes you feel alone.
Sometimes you feel lost at sea.
Sometimes it feels like no one cares.
And sometimes everyone does.
 
Sometimes you think you have problems.
Sometimes you think they can’t be solved.
Sometimes you let them drag you down.
And sometimes, you don’t.
 
Sometimes, all it takes,
Is a friend.
Not to listen;
Not to give you a shoulder to cry on;
But to drag you, kicking and screaming,
Back to your feet again.
To tell you to use your head.
 
Sometimes, that person
Is the one you least expect.
 
©2012 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

