Star Wars…I’m On the Fence

This post was inspired by a post by Our Humble Opinions on November 5th, 2012. Some of this post can be seen as a comment there.

 
So, Disney buys Lucas Arts for 4 billion USD. George Lucas and Disney then announce a reboot of the series with a Star Wars: Episode 7 estimated to appear in 2015. I have mixed feelings about this and in this post/article, I will explain why.
 
Star Wars episode 4,5 and 6 were three of the greatest movies ever in my (and I like to think many others) opinion. Episode 1 had its moments of quality, but 2 and 3 were pretty bad. (also my opinion). I am fully aware that there are many people out there who enjoyed all of episodes 1, 2 and 3. They seemed more like romance movies than sci-fi movies if you ask me.
 
I have faith in Disney. They bought Marvel, and made The Avengers and are working on Iron Man 3 one of which was a booming success and the other I suspect will be as well. I also really enjoyed the new Spiderman movie. Ultimately they did well in letting Marvel keep its name and quality of film making. So when I heard through the grapevine that Disney had bought Lucas Arts for 4 billion dollars, I did not believe it. Then it appeared on the front page of my local new paper. I was overwhelmed with both terror and excitement.
 
I was excited because as previously mentioned, Disney did; and is doing; wonderful things with Marvel and I immediately thought they would do the same for Lucas Arts. I was also terrified because I was aware of George Lucas wanted coupled with the knowledge that George Lucas hates his star wars fan base.
 
Just the fact that George Lucas stated that he was looking forward to the star wars reboot, made me almost angry. I have formed three scenarios in my mind as to why Mr. Lucas allowed this:

  • Scenario 1: The more positive scenario; George Lucas allowed this as a last chance to redeem himself for the fact that episodes 1, 2 and 3 were hated across his fan base. He loved them, but maybe he has accepted that they weren’t in the same style as episodes 4, 5 and 6, and he wants to make up for it.
  • Scenario 2: Arguably the most cynical scenario; George Lucas is giving his fans one last giant figurative “bird”. Basically saying: “What can I do, as a sort of ‘last hurrah’ to piss of those idiots who thought Episodes 1, 2 and 3 were bad movies.”
  • Scenario 3: A likely scenario that we have seen happening with reboots of many other movies in the past 10 years; George Lucas and Disney are kicking a dead horse and hoping money will fall out.

I like the third scenario for likelihood the best. I want to believe the first, but I just don’t have that much faith in George Lucas or Disney.
 
I kind of felt the same way when Disney bought marvel. The only difference now is that Marvel still has ongoing story development through comics and cartoons where as the star wars fan base is growing through novels and parodies. (Thank you internet.)
 
Episode 6 of star wars gave us closure in the films. I can’t even imagine where Disney is going to take us from here. Darth Malgus? the Sun Crusher? did Palpatine/Darth Sidious actually die? Will this follow the escapades of the child of Han Solo and Princess Leia? Is princess Leia a real Disney princess now? if so, is she not the most badass Disney princess of all time? Is Toy Story still Disney’s most popular series?
 
There were so many happenings in the novels that there is no way of knowing which direction episode 7, 8 and 9 will go in. Unless they tell us of course; which is unlikely at least for another year. Will they turn one of the book trilogies into a movie; thereby ruining the book? Or will they make an entirely new story?
 
I think all-in-all with Disney owning Lucas Arts, one of two things could happen. Reviving the series with a 7, 8 and 9 will either be a booming success in fixing the mistake that was 1, 2 and 3; or it will be a terrible flop. No matter what happens, there will be people that like it and people to hate it. It may be a bit too early to tell but I think these movies are going to end up being movies with no middle ground. You’ll either hate them, or love them. The most distressing part is that if my prediction of no middle ground comes true, it will create a huge divide within the star wars fan base; and I don’t want to see that happen.

3 thoughts on “Star Wars…I’m On the Fence

  1. Worst case scenario the movies suck. People hate them so they pretend they don’t exist never have to watch them again..

    Best case scenario the movies are awesome and people love them and re watch them again and again.

    The potential outcome of awesomeness far outweighs the potential outcome of the badness. You could have no movies and no chance of awesome and that would be no fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

