The Beast

I wrote this poem about 3 weeks ago but never shared it. I’m sharing now because well, I re-read it and it is probably one of my favourite pieces of my own writing. -Alex H.

 
The world I know has left
Left me in the cold
Left me all alone at last
My story left untold.
 
The world I know has left
Left me here in vain
Left me here to tell the tales
of my forgotten pain.
 
The world I know has left
left me here to feel
The emotions I keep bottled up
Left me here to heal.
 
My war is far from over
On this tarnished battle ground
But on this day and in this hour
I pray without a sound.
 
I cast aside my shortfalls
and years of my unrest
to sit here with the heartfelt ones
The beast among the best.
 
©2012 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

