My Christmas Wish


 
Dear Santa,
 
It’s been a long time since I wrote you last and I hope you’re doing well. How’s the wife? Hope the elves and reindeer are doing well. Let me get straight to the point.
 
This year on my Christmas list
I have one simple request
It’s not likely something you can give
But I ask that you try your best.
 
All I want for Christmas
The one thing on my list
Is a chance to relive memories
And to live all that I’ve missed.
 
To redo all that I’ve done wrong
In poorly treating friends
I want them to know I’m sorry
Before this last year ends.
 
I want to know love again
It’s been lost on me of late
All I’ve seen in recent months
Is far, far too much hate.
 
That’s all I ask for this year
It is all that I require
I know it’s not an instant thing
But the idea’s been inspired.
 
©2012 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

