A Toast to the Forgotten

5 person toast
 
I guess things are different now
I don’t know if I know how
 
To find a path all on my own
Or even if I have a home
 
My story’s shorter than that of most
But I’ll raise my glass, propose a toast.
 
To those like me who can’t be found
And those who look, always around.
 
To life-like spirits who walk beside
To the emotions we all keep inside
 
For those who try but can’t succeed
For those who walk but won’t proceed
 
To those who are locked in their mind
To those of us who walk behind
 
For those of you who fall off track
For those of you who won’t look back
 
To those of you who live the life
To those of you who throw the dice
 
And if you feel you have no home
I toast to you, you’re not alone.
 
©2013 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

