(08/01/2013) What Poets Do

glowing earth
 
Anyone can write a rhyme
To scare away the creeping rust
Of age and things that come with time
But writing them is all or bust.
 
Shadows come here every day
To scare us and to make us sigh
You’ll understand all that I say
Once I make the shadows fly.
 
The world is full of crime and hate
As the earth just keeps its spin
But what I show you will create
The blinding light we need to win.
 
There is something I have found
Follow me and I will show
that the sun may make the earth go round
But poets make the world glow.
 
©2013 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

