(28/01/2013) The Thing About Death

lies
 
There’s something about death
That strikes us down with fear
But at the same time
Intregues us greatly
 
There is this sense
Or desire
To learn what we don’t know
 
And when we can’t learn
We start lying
 
We start telling stories
To make us comfortable
In our lack
Of difinitive knowledge
 
We fear
That which we don’t understand
The unknown.
Death.
 
So we lie.
 
That’s the thing about the dead
They have nothing to fear
So if you were to ask them a question
They would have no reason to tell the truth.
 
So if we could ask the dead
What happens when we die
We would
And the entire world would change
 
But we can’t
 
Because the dead can’t speak
And if they could
All you would hear is lies
 
©2013 Alex Hicks

3 thoughts on “(28/01/2013) The Thing About Death

  1. Death huh? I ask a lot of questions about death, more now than ever before after losing my baby brother last june. Sometimes, I wish I knew… and others I’m glad I don’t. I like this piece Alex. It’s real true. I relate.. I agree. ~ Jen

    1. I’m sorry to hear about your brother. I can’t even imagine how hard it is to lose a sibling. I wouldn’t be able to handle it if I lost my brother I know I’m not strong enough for that.

      Yeah, death has been on my mind a lot since Christmas. On Christmas eve my uncle died and there has been a lot of conflict between both sides of his family so the memory keeps coming back. I wasn’t all that close to him, but I grew up around him and his wife.

      1. Having to say goodbye so suddenly is the hardest part. He was juat….taken. It’s heart breaking. I was not ready to say bye. My brother and I were not done living yet..

        I’m sorry about your Uncle. You are in my thoughts.. ~J

Leave a Reply

