(30/01/2013) My Armor

defending
 
I am but a shadow
Of what I used to be
I really cannot blame them
When the one at fault is me.
 
Because I made the mistake
Of letting my armor down
Of letting my defenses fall
Whenever you’re around.
 
But I’m done letting my armor fall
I’m done letting people in
It clearer now now that I know
It’s the only way to win.
 
I want to get ahead in life
But I can’t do it on my own
But betrayals made me realize
I really am alone.
 
But do not give me sympathy
I’m used to building walls
The hardest thing for me to do
Is to watch all of mine fall.
 
©2013 Alex Hicks

One thought on “(30/01/2013) My Armor

Leave a Reply

