(01/02/2013) Resurrected Spirit – a duet with Hastywords

Another duet with Hastywords! Check out her blog and be sure to follow her if you haven’t done so already.

 
Storm
 
The early morning fog was thick
The clouds had turned to grey
The storm ahead was coming fast
I wondered if to stay.
 
Could I once again endure
The relenting turmoil it would bring
Or could I remain steadfast
And seek safety here at last
 
The clouds are dark and looming
Precursor to the storm
The wind picks up and whips at me
As rain begins to pour
 
I brace myself for what’s to come
This tornadic dance I do so well
The lightning begins to flash
A sky plastering kisses on my skin
 
Each flash brings to me visions
Of all the mistakes I’ve made
I think of how I’ll cope with them
Once this torrent fades
 
More ominous than before
Clouds like billowing smoke
Render me sightless and afraid
Of troubles hidden in this sea
 
But while my worries may run deeper
Than the Mariana trench
I know I will emerge unscathed
And stronger than before
 
Gathering all my strength
To withstand the painful winds
And with a resurrected spirit
I will dance throughout this storm
 
©2013 Alex Hicks and Hastywords

2 thoughts on “(01/02/2013) Resurrected Spirit – a duet with Hastywords

Leave a Reply

