Shine On Blogging Award

shine on award


Much to my surprise this morning, I turned on my computer to find that Jen over at Think.Speak.Tryst has nominated me for the Shine on Blogging Award. As with any wordpress award there are a few rules that must be followed upon the acceptance of said award; they are as follows:

1. Link back to the blogger who nominated you
2. Nominate fifteen bloggers who shine a little light in your day and be sure to notify them.
3. Share some facts about yourself or answer the questions given to you.


So I’ll start by answering questions. I will answer all of Jen’s questions given as well as one that was given to her as I found it to be a very interesting question.


1. If you were in a band what instrument would you play?
 
I would probably play the keyboard. The range of sounds it can make and the skill required to learn it would mean an amazing challenge for me.


2. Tell about one time when you were embarrassed in public, short version.
 
This is not all that bad actually. My most embarassing public experience was when I got kicked out of a local mall for a friends shenanigans.


3. What inspires you the most? A movie, a book, a friend, a hero?
 
I’m not sure if there is a correct answer to this for me. Overall I think music inspires me more than anythiing else, but there are people that inspire me too. I think for this question though, for simplicities sake, I have to say music.


4. On that note, name one of your hero’s and tell us why you admire them.
 
There are so many people on this list for me, but I’ll name one.
David Draiman of Disturbed and now Device, because the amount of stregth it would take to go through what he has been through in his life is amazing.


5. If you could live anywhere in the world, where?
 
Anywhere in the world? Is this under the assumption that we CAN live anywhere in the world? Do I have an infinite source of food? or if not, do I have the means to make an easy trip to somewhere to buy food? Or am I only bound by the constraints of civilization? That being, needing to buy food and clothing on a semi-regular basis, and do I have magic electricity? (Electricity without a source). If the question means literally anywhere: I’d have to say anywhere in Canada. If the question means anywhere within the constraints applied by modern society, then I’d have to say…Canada.
 
Best.Country.Ever.
 
mic drop


And the last question I’ll answer was posed to Jen by TwinDaddy, and it was:
If I could have any person, alive or dead, guest post on my blog, who would it be?
 
Honestly I had to think about this one. Believe it or not, I’ve decided on Shakespeare. His use of the english language, the underlying story in each of his plays, his ability to have your writing play with the emotions of his audience, all remain unmatched to this day.


I was nominated for this award by Jen at Think.Speak.Tryst, so now comes the time when I have to nominate 15 people; the time when I have to “pay it forward” as the case may be. This was a difficult choice for me, as there are so many great writers on wordpress, but here they are:

  1. A Shade of Pen
  2. A Girl With A Pen
  3. A Prayer Like Gravity
  4. Blue Girl Poems
  5. Dandeliongirl01
  6. “I Am Not Yours”
  7. A Cathartic Method
  8. Artless Poems
  9. Hastywords
  10. Becky
  11. Edward Hotspur
  12. Crossheartzones
  13. Dedicatedtothebest
  14. Sonnets and Dragonflies
  15. Pete Armetta

I suppose I still need to ask some questions for those 15 people to answer…
 
 
 
hmmm…
 
 
 
Okay, here:
 
1. If you could have a 1-hour conversation with anyone in the universe, who would it be? (You could ask them anything at all and they would be 100% honest about every answer.)
2. What is your definition of wealth?
3. Why do you write?
4. Will you tell me a bedtime story?

and last but not least:
5. Tissue?


Thank you Jen, for nominating me for this award, and making me take an hour break to write this loooooong post LOL just kidding. I enjoy it. And thank you, to all of my readers. I wouldn’t be writing today were it not for having people to read my work. You’ve made this blog what it is today and for that you have my gratitude.
 
Gratitude seems kind of wishy-washy…I feel like I need to give something back…
 
Maybe I’ll read you a bed-time story!


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I bet you thought I was going to say something corny here like “Keep on Shining.”
 
Well I’m not, so jokes on you. heh heh heh heh heh.
 
Thanks again.
 
– Alex Hicks
 
This broadcast is brought to you by the letter “C” and the number “41 365”. That’s the letter “See” and the number “Fourty-one thousand, three hundred and sixty-five” and is made possible by Think.Speak.Tryst, FromTheDark, and most importantly, Viewers like you.

3 thoughts on “Shine On Blogging Award

  1. Yep… it’s a long post, but fun & worth it!! You deserve this Alex!! YAY!! I love the key board answer and Shakespear too. Shakespear is so timeless… His work is still read, loved, enjoyed, studied, and performed to this day!! I bet when he was writing, he never imagined his words being read centuries after his time… Congrats on Shinning On… ~J

Leave a Reply

