Faith? No.

Little disclaimer for this one. If you try to debate me in comments, I will debate. However, I do not want to debate, because debates on this topic unless professionally moderated often degenerate in to mindless accusations and arguments which ultimately gets us nowhere. I will stand up for atheism, but online is not the place to do it.Faith. No

Also, I’m sure that some of my followers will not like this poem. That is okay, and I apologize if I have offended you. I do not want to force my lack-of-belief on to you, I stated a while back that I would be posting whatever I write, no bars held, and this is exactly that.

13 thoughts on “Faith? No.

  1. Yes, I see by your comments debate will get know where. So don’t put your post out there for the world to see if you aren’t prepared to debate it. But I can tell you that you won’t be good at debating when you appear before God who has a mind infinitely above yours.

    1. “So don’t put your post out there for the world to see if you aren’t prepared to debate it.”
      I did not say that I am not prepared to debate, I said I didn’t want to debate it. I also explained why I didn’t want to. Read it again. Also, my blog, my choice of what goes up. Don’t like it? Leave.
       
      “But I can tell you that you won’t be good at debating when you appear before God who has a mind infinitely above yours.”
      I will not debate with you because of this statement. This statement tells me that you are not even open to the idea of Atheism, nor are you open to a debate about the subject. This kind of narrow-minded thinking is the reason I don’t like debating online.

      1. If a person is an expert with words they can debate anything away. Faith is a thing of the heart which is not understood by the natural thinking man unless he desires it in his heart. The fundamental difference between a believer in God and an atheist is that one desires God and one doesn’t.

      2. “If a person is an expert with words they can debate anything away.”
        I never once said I was an expert with words. I said I didn’t want to debate. From what I’m seeing, you’re not very good at debating as you are making assumptions about me.
         
        Edit: Debating is a discussion between two educated people of different view points. The goal of both sides is to change the view point of the other. I don’t like debating online (in addition to my previously stated reason) is because in most cases, no matter what is said, one will not be able to change the view of the other. The debate will end and both parties will continue to believe what they did before the debate started. Therefor, the debate serves no purpose.
         
        “Faith is a thing of the heart which is not understood by the natural thinking man unless he desires it in his heart.”
        First, defined by Dictionary.com:

        Faith
        noun
        1.confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another’s ability.
        2.belief that is not based on proof: He had faith that the hypothesis would be substantiated by fact.
        3.belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion: the firm faith of the Pilgrims.
        4.belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standards of merit, etc.: to be of the same faith with someone concerning honesty.
        5.a system of religious belief: the Christian faith; the Jewish faith.

        Second, there are different types of faith. I do not possess the same faith that you do because I have faith that what science cannot explain right now, it will one day be able to explain in detail.
         
        Third, the heart does not feel anything. All emotions are in your brain. Caused by various chemical reactions in response to the stimulation of certain senses. Your heart serves to pump blood to the entirety of the human body in order to keep you alive including your brain.
         
        “The fundamental difference between a believer in God and an atheist is that one desires God and one doesn’t.”
        No, it is not. The fundamental difference between a theist and an Atheist is that one believes in god and the other does not. Desire for there to be a god, does not factor into that difference. What you are referring to in your statement is Theism and Anti-theism.

      3. I’m pretty new to this blogging thing so I hope I put this reply in the correct place. You’re right when you say I’m not very good at debating, because I’m not. I’m just hopefully trying to make you think about my angle because I have a real experience with God and experience his power in reality and I want others to see this.

        Also I want to clear up the fact that the heart I’m talking about is not the physical heart you’re talking about but the spiritual and also the faith I’m talking about even if it could be defined by the dictionary, the definition wouldn’t be understood by everyone – only those who are spiritual just as the Bible can only be understood by spiritual people.

        You know – you can prove God exists if you want by simply opening up your inner man to him and see him in reality. Not with the intellect. If you were to ask God sincerely to show himself to you, then he would.

        Don’t worry, I won’t do anymore replies.

        Andrew

      4. I respect the fact that you believe in a god. All I’m trying to point out to you is that comments like the first one you posted “But I can tell you that you won’t be good at debating when you appear before God who has a mind infinitely above yours.” are insulting. I find them incredibly rude as would many of the religious people I know. I didn’t mean to sound rude and I’m sorry if I did, but I will not let people insult my intelligence without defending myself.

        I do not believe in any gods, I do not believe in spirituality in the same sense you do, I do not believe in an alternated non-physical heart, and I disagree that you can prove god exists in any way, shape or form. I can’t prove that god doesn’t exist but I have faith that science will be able to prove it within my lifetime. I will not ask god to show himself to me because I do not have imaginary friends.

        On the subject of the bible, no credible religious person can debate using it as a reference because it is contradictory at the best of times, scientifically proven to be wrong on most others, and there are more terrible deeds done in stories in the bible than there are good ones. I have read the bible; in fact I am a firm believer that the bible is one of the best resources for supporting atheism.

        I repeat: I do not believe in any gods, I do not believe in spirituality in the same sense you do, I do not believe in an alternated non-physical heart, and I disagree that you can prove god exists in any way, shape or form. I’ve seen it from your point of view, many years ago. It opened my eyes to the falsehood of religions. My life got a lot better when I gave it up.

      5. Alex

        I said I won’t do any more replies. I didn’t expect you to say anymore. Obviously I disagree, but I find the things you say quite interesting. If you’re up to it I’d like to continue a bit of a discussion (not a heated debate though – just a discussion)
        We can discuss here but comments from others can be off-putting. I’d prefer by email – but only if you were interested.

        Also – maybe my comments “were” insulting and rude, but so was the pulling down of the Bible with your poem (or was it any religious book.) You even apologised for offending your followers because you knew you would.

        Are you up for a discussion or are you over it? It sounds like you might debate lot.

      6. I was “pulling down” all religious texts, not just the Bible. I realize that it is offensive, and I posted it for a couple reasons. First, a long time ago I said I would post what ever I wrote, no matter what it was. And second, I shouldn’t need to censor myself on the topic of religion if theists don’t have to. I walk down the street after work and people hand me cards that say “Are you saved?” and I don’t see why I should be silent if they don’t have to be.

        I would love to continue this discussion via email. Just the fact that you are willing to discuss it is more than enough reason for me to keep the discussion open. You can email me at alexander.j.hicks@gmail.com

  2. I of course am Christian but have many Athiest friends. The good thing about life and love is that we all get to choose what we believe. And even though I don’t like how the poem made me feel inside and I don’t agree with the sentiments I do love the poem. You are truly talented…but you already know that. 🙂

    1. Agreed 🙂 I’m okay with people being religious. I have a problem with it when it starts to effect society in a negative way.

      Sorry if it made you feel bad 😦

      That was not my intent :/

      Thank you for the compliment though 🙂

      1. Poems are meant to make people feel right? I am guilty of writing poetry that makes people feel bad so…. don’t apologize.
        In response the one of the comments above, one has a desire to know God and one doesn’t? I am not sure I agree…
        In my view and I only say this because it is what happened to me and is my own personal belief. Belief begins to come when you have a conversation with God. I think often times even Christians don’t have this conversation. Many times the conversation only happens because you realize you have no control and you desperately want to believe somebody has control?
        I don’t really know but it happens for everyone differently or it doesn’t lol….I think I am rambling…I would be a terrible debater.

  3. I am a Believer and I think the poem is beautiful, not that I agree and glad by the thoughts – it just poses a truth that the Bible would strongly affirm, thus its beautiful … :’)

Leave a Reply

