Stubborn

Saying I don’t want the help
Isn’t saying I don’t need it
But in the past when others did
I’d felt I’d been defeated.

Because I enjoy my independence
I enjoy my spending my free time
Doing things just by myself
When I don’t feel like trying.

But it’s all about the company
The ones who stick with you
No matter how hard hard times may get
It not the many, but the few.

They are your true companions
Friends until the end
And once you hit rock bottom
They’ll still be glad to call you friend.

So yes I may be stubborn
And I may come across unkind
But rest assured I’ll be there too
If you should fall behind.

©2013 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

