Alone


 
Sure I’ve had hard times
I’ve been let down by friends
I’ve been betrayed
Stabbed in the back
Shot myself in the foot
Threw stones from a glass house
And laughed as it fell apart
Threw stone AT a glass house
Then cried as it fell apart.
 
There is no feeling in this world
As terrible as guilt.
 
Just as there is no feeling
As beautiful as love.
 
Not just love.
But true love.
 
Waking up beside one person
Every
Single
Morning
And smiling at her sleeping face
 
Asking yourself
“How did SHE end up with ME”
and
“She is way out of my league”
 
Because she is.
But you swung that bat anyway.
And you hit a home run.
 
That’s it.
That’s the feeling.
Every time you look at her
You feel like you just hit a home run.
 
Well, that’s what I think it will be anyway.
I’ve never found true love.
 
And the worst part is…
 
I’m not sure I ever will.
 
ยฉ2013 Alex Hicks

8 thoughts on “Alone

  1. no one has seen tomorrow..but today is a present…i send you good luck and hope that the beautiful poem comes alive and true except for ur last line..blessed be ๐Ÿ™‚ u deserve happiness ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. if love was true,
    inside of you
    then let it glow
    let it go
    let it be
    as you feel
    free and real
    trustworthy
    and if ,
    life ends up today
    and no one came
    or wept to say
    I miss that love
    I want him back
    then you had loved
    no one but you
    just you and you
    so in the end
    its only you

    1. I have to respond the same to this that I did to my mother and my former roommate. I’m sure plenty of people live perfectly happy lives alone. I, however, do not want to live a happy life alone. I want to have that love, a significant other who shares my opinions and beliefs; one who shares my love for life, poetry, literature, and beauty. I cannot be truly happy until I find that. I will not be truly happy until I find that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Still love the poetic responses to my writing by the way ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I’m not asking for perfection, I’m asking for something real lol.

      I know I probably will, and I know I’ve got lots of time to find it too lol

Leave a Reply

