I’ve Forgotten


 
I’ve been single for a while now, and I think I’ve forgotten a few things.
 
I forgotten what it feels like to wake up beside a person you care deeply about and look into her eyes thinking that this is the one.
 
I’ve forgotten about arguing with her over petty differences like leaving the toilet seat up and what we do with empty cartons of milk or whose turn it is to do the dishes at the end of the day.
 
I’ve forgotten how it feels to sit pretending to watch TV while actually watching her cook, or clean, or read a book while wondering how one person could be so both adorable and beautiful at the same time.
 
I’ve forgotton how it feels trying to focus on making supper but being unable to because I know that her eyes are following me from the living room teeming with desire, want, love, lust.
 
I’ve forgotten how it feels to go out to dinner with her and just sit staring into eachothers eyes hoping that this feeling would never end, convinced that it wouldn’t knowing that at the end of the night the last thing we would see is eachother.
 
I’ve forgotten what it feels like knowing that the last thing we see at night and the first thing we see every morning is each others smiling face overwhelmingly happy with the relationship we have, with the life we share, with the world we’ve created, with the love that we’ve built.
 
I’ve forgotten what love feels like.
 
But I think…
 
I think that were I to find it again, I would know it right away.
 
©2013 Alex Hicks

3 thoughts on “I’ve Forgotten

  1. somethings we remember, few things we forget
    life is about sharing, reward and regrets
    each day has a good morning, but I haven’t slept 🙂
    every night she pushes me , out of my bed
    why does she hold me close , am I singing a duet ?

  2. Sometimes, I feel like that too … but there are so many different kinds of love, so it gets confusing. I will say, that I have been writing all my life, I have written about love for years, and it is still one of the most confusing things to me …

    But I will also tell you this, when you find love, or rather, when love finds you, you will know … you will definitely know my friend!! So, be patient, love will come and find you … XoXo

Leave a Reply

