Lead The Charge


 
I put myself there.
I dug my own grave
I was ready to give up
I was ready to quit
To stop trying.
 
I had built walls around myself
And everytime I said I would tear them down
I just built them thicker
 
A different kind of self harm
A different kind of suicide.
 
But I stopped.
 
Someone reached out to me
To pull me from my dark place
And into the light I had glimpsed.
 
I didn’t give up
I didn’t quit
 
And unbeknownst to me
I had more friends than I thought.
Friends I didn’t even know about
Watching unseen from the sidelines of my life
Concerned with where I was going
But unable to really help.
 
And now, I can see all of them
I no longer have friends on the sidelines
I can now see them
Fighting with me
Fighting their own demons as well as mine
Just as I am fighting theirs.
 
I’ve joined the fray
I’ve drawn my blade
I’ll lead the charge
I’ll clear the way.
 
My shield a bastion
My sword will strike true
Let enemies approach me
I will push through.
 
My steed carries foreward
The head of the charge
I will face any problems
No matter how large
 
The blood of my foes
Will paint the ground red
Until all of my demons
Have ended up dead.
 
I will fight for my morals
I will fight with the best
Until the day comes
That I draw my last breath.
 
©2013 Alex Hicks

5 thoughts on “Lead The Charge

  1. Beautifully written Alex! I love the metaphors and symbols that you have used. It starts off as a story, and it builds to an amazing ‘positive’ climax. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

