The Dark

The Dark

I act as though I’ve left the dark
Like I’ve passed through it
And I’ll never see it again

But thats not true
I see it every day.
Somedays,
It’s closer than others
Somedays,
I’m right back in it again
It surrounds me.

But the difference is
I’ve learned to accept help
When I need it

I don’t think I could face the dark
Not again.
Not alone.

But I don’t need to
I don’t have to face the dark alone

I may not have a lot of friends
But what few I have
Mean the world to me.

And I would do anything for them
Just as they
Would do anything for me.

©2013 Alex Hicks

5 thoughts on “The Dark

  1. Well done. A very good message as well. The dark is truly all around us but letting go of pride in order to seek help let’s the light of those dear to us push away the shadows.
    Keep inspiring

    JMC

    1. I’m sorry to say this, but the Dark will find you everywhere. The only thing to do is to not let it nip at your heels. One day at a time, one step at a time, everything will work out in the end 🙂

Leave a Reply

