The Walls I Know So Well

So yesterday, me and my girlfriend broke up. It was on good terms and we are still “friends” but it still hurts. I thought I loved this girl, but I put too much of myself into a relationship that was only 3.5 months old. I was smothering her on top of everything she had to focus on with school and her family…I understood everything…It made sense…
 
But it still hurts…
 

 
I keep saying I could have fixed things
But I don’t think that I’d be able
I became far too reliant
On the feelings I’d enabled.
 
I expected her to care for me
So much more than what she did
After such a short relationship
I couldn’t handle what she hid
 
I let fall all my defenses
The walls I took so long to build
And now that I’m alone again
With loneliness I’m filled.
 
So now it’s time to step back
And rebuild the walls I fell
To shut out all the darkness
That I know so very well
 
So I will sit alone for now
And build up my hardened shell
I’ll rebuild what I let fall
The walls I know so well.
 
©2013 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

