The Hardest Part


 
Some days waking up
Is the hardest thing I do
I’ve spend days now wide awake
Thinking of only you
 
Thinking of where I went wrong
Of how I screwed things up
Thinking on how much
It hurt just giving up.
 
And I wish that I could stay asleep
Because in dreams we’re still together
But it’s always interrupted
Because I know you’re gone forever
 
And I wish I could have fixed things
And that you had given me a chance
To repair the trust that I betrayed
To dance that twisted dance.
 
I know that one day I’ll be fine
That I’ll move on and live my life
But for now all I feel is misery
Amidst the pain, the hurt, and strife.
 
This broken hearted memory
Will haunt me for the time
Of what we had and what we lost
But someday I’ll be fine.
 
And that’s the hardest part.
 
©2013 Alex Hicks

Leave a Reply

