Why Do You Fight?

20 - NnSZA0l

I’ve been betrayed so many times I lost track
Felt the cold knife getting lodged in my back
But it doesn’t deter me, I won’t slow down
I just hope that the world won’t see me fall down.

I don’t want to be angry, I don’t want to be sad
I want to be happy with the life that I have
But my friends and my family, they all know the words
That take all of my pain and just make it worse

I know they don’t mean to, with “I know how you feel”
But they don’t really know, this pain is too real
So I smile and thank them, for misguided advice
After all I cannot blame them, they’re just being nice.

But if I can’t take their words to heart
Then to stop this pain where do I start
What began once as heartbreak has grown to something more
What do I want with life? What do I fight for?

I fight for the right to fight for the words
That give each of us wings so we can take off like birds
For the graves of the many who have died for the fight
Who at one point did fight for this very right

I fight for the passion in every word on the page
All the beauty, the sadness, the fear and the rage
For the wonders of first loves, first kisses, first times
For the natural beauty the sun brings when it shines

That’s why I fight, what about you?
Do you fight for your loved ones in all that you do?
Or do you fight for yourself, lest you rest well at night
I’m asking you, tell me, why do you fight?

©Alex Hicks 2014

3 thoughts on “Why Do You Fight?

  1. this is really goood… I loved it.

    My fav part
    “I fight for the passion in every word on the page
    All the beauty, the sadness, the fear and the rage
    For the wonders of first loves, first kisses, first times
    For the natural beauty the sun brings when it shines”

Leave a Reply

